Return of the Light

December 23, 2010 at 6:24 pm 1 comment

One of my first winters in Vermont, I attended a solstice party, in which we all went from the warm and cozy house out into the very dark and deeply cold night, where we each took a candle, and lit it from the fire that burned outside (it had been set the hour before we arrived by our lovely hosts).

We brought our candles in to the hearth, lighting the fire in the fireplace (the house made cozy by the woodstove in the other corner), welcoming the return of the light.

Today, just after the solstice and just before Christmas and the New Year, I imagine the return of the light within myself.  As long as I have breath in my body, the light of the divine is always within me.  On my darkest days, I may not be able to feel the warmth of that light, or experience its brightness, but when I close my eyes, I can find it somewhere within me.

I imagine I bring that light–perhaps burning as bright as a bonfire, perhaps as tiny as the flame of a tealight–into my heart, reigniting myself in this winter darkness.

Solstice, the return of the light, as we journey, here in Vermont, towards the coldest part of winter.

Stay warm with your yoga practice, with the love of friends and family, and with the light of your own self, and your own heart.

Namaste.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

I am whelmed. Return of the Blog Posts

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dena  |  December 23, 2010 at 7:22 pm

    Namaste

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Up Pup Store News

Up Pup Winter Clearance Sale
Up to 75% off
Women's tanks, skirts, tee's; Men's pants; Kids leggings and tees; up-cycled fingerless gloves, headbands and leather cuff bracelets.
Sharon Farmers Market
Feb 9, 10-1
Sharon Elementary School
UPPUPYOGA.COM

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


